Silver Supporter
Aug 9, 2020
Carefree AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I’ve had high Chlorine (Cl that shows in a simple Leslie’s test kit) for quite awhile. Had Leslie’s test a few times and we’ve added a few things to either de-Chlorinate or bring pH up. Haven’t shocked in a long time. Took tab floater out of the pool. pH has been in range. Yesterday I tested and pH doesn’t even register. Water in test kit is completely clear. Added about 5lbs of soda ash in steps and still no reading.

Frankly, none of the chemicals seem to do the job anymore. Is my water done? Do we need to drain and start over? I haven’t done that in forever so I’ll probably need to get a more comprehensive testing kit to track more water characteristics. Just want to know if I’m on the right track?

I agree that I need a better and more comprehensive test kit; however I’ve been testing this pool with this brand kit for 36 years and have always gotten readings in range. So I’ll order a new kit but question still remains… chlorine has been sitting very high (>= 3) for a few months with no chlorine products added. Getting tests done at Leslie’s. pH dropped to No reading.

You cannot have high FC if you have not added any chlorine for a few months. Not possible. Very high FC can bleach out the test reagents you are using.

Reactions: Mdragger88
I agree that I need a better and more comprehensive test kit; however I’ve been testing this pool with this brand kit for 36 years and have always gotten readings in range. So I’ll order a new kit but question still remains… chlorine has been sitting very high (>= 3) for a few months with no chlorine products added. Getting tests done at Leslie’s. pH dropped to No reading.
Leslie’s testing is terrible and likely the cause of your problem. Get one of the two TFP recommended test kits. The TF-100 is the most economical for what you get.

And FC BELOW 3ppm is likely way too low.