Oct 2, 2023
Stockton, CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Newbie here...

Black algae is my worst enemy lol...we have spent hundreds on treatments from the pool store. We have a pool guy that I am ready to get rid of because with him and us buying treatments, we still have NOT gotten rid of this black algae. We have gotten close to it but we missed a weekend of cleaning and BOOM it was back with a vengeance. We have shocked it and used an algaecide and scrubbed and scrubbed and cleaned filters and omg...my husband and I are ready to make it a huge garden. I am so done with pool stores and their remedies that dont work and Im sick of paying a guy to just test my water and add chemicals when I can do that. Help! Anyone have any miracles for this algae that I cant get rid of!?!? Thanks all for your help in advance :)
We have an inground pool, about 20,000 gallons, Hayward pump, Robert is our sweeper, and a frog who holds water because chlorine tabs dissolve quick =D

Welcome to TFP!!!

Here is our Black Algae guide...you can do this...!!!

How are you testing your chemistry? Do you have your own test kit? Can you post a full set of results from your test kit? pH, FC, CC, CYA, CH, TA. This would help us help you...

If you have been exclusively using TABS to chlorinate, it may be that your CYA is very high and you cannot keep enough FC in the water to sanitize the pool, and certainly can't keep enough to clear black algae.

If you don't have a test kit, order one today...you will need it to clear black algae. Link-->Test Kits Compared

Last edited:
Reactions: newdude and mgtfp
I am so done with pool stores and their remedies that dont work and Im sick of paying a guy to just test my water and add chemicals when I can do that. Help!

That's exactly what TFP is all about. You can do this. Without pool store or service. With our help.