20 mule team....Spa

freesolo12

Feb 13, 2023
North Carolina
Hello! I am new to spa ownership (almost 1 year) and trying to find my way away from FROG "smoke and mirrors." I really appreciate all the posts to help me learn the bleach/Dichlor method. I have a Bullfrog A6L (350 gallons) and I use mostly HTH products. I'm getting ready to fresh fill and I normally try to get to 30CYA (then pool bleach) ph= 7.4, CH 200, TA 50-60. I am going to try and add borate and CSI to my TFP pool app (love the app). I use a Taylor test kit and a Apera ph meter both. My question is to pursue borax usage. I purchased " 20 Mule Team Borax Laundry Booster and Multi purpose cleaner." (65 oz. box )
1) 20 Mule team is NOT pure boric acid, correct? The TFP pool app asks what to input, Borax/Boric Acid/Tetraborate Pentahydrate
2) At a target amount of 50 ppm, the amounts to add are from 13, 16 and 21 ounces. What is the correct input for 20 Mule team?
3) Muriatic acid is mentioned a lot. I do not use it, only Sodium Bisulfate to lower ph. Is this Ok?
4) How to measure borates? I think i have seen 2 brands of test strips?
5) I assume 20 Mule Team is the LAST thing to work on, after, Ph, TA, CH and the sanitizer level?
6) IF , for example, 16 ounces is the correct amount, how fast can it be added? Slowly broadcast as it dissolves? Can It be added all in a reasonable amount of time?
I referenced the Nov 2009 post from J24, it was good info for sure. THANKS to all who makes this so great! I will have more questions, mostly about the "new" info to add dichlor 1-2 days a month and how I need to use non chlorine shock ( not very much I believe)
I hope this all makes good sense. Thanks to all and the Dichlor/bleach pages I have printed and read over and over!
Freesolo12