New to pools entirely

DWAZ

Jan 20, 2024
Phoenix, AZ
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I’m new to pools, and this pool is new to me but about 30 years old. I’m hoping the collective knowledge here can help with a few questions. Thanks in advance for your help!

How difficult an install would a salt water generator be with this pump/filter configuration? Is it realistic to fit without significant replumbing?

How do I evaluate the condition of the pool surface? Note the chip and white spots. I assume the surface may be a few decades old at this point.

How can I mitigate the black grass/weed encroachment just above the tiles? I’m concerned there may be a leak in some of the pool plumbing to enable this kind of growth.

Should I be concerned that the pool water supply shut off valve is PVC plumbed above ground as pictured? Minimal sun exposure but it’s Phoenix so very hot ambient many months of the year.

TF-PRO SALT test kit results below, is there any hope to salvage the remaining water? I’ve added about a gallon of bleach and half gallon of muriatic acid to start. I assume the CYA may require a partial drain at least.

FC: 1ppm

CC: 0.5ppm

pH: 8.2

CH: 550ppm

TA: 280

CYA: >100

Attachments

• IMG_1503.jpeg
    IMG_1503.jpeg
    243.3 KB · Views: 56
  • IMG_1504.jpeg
    IMG_1504.jpeg
    413.9 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_1505.jpeg
    IMG_1505.jpeg
    440.9 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_1506.jpeg
    IMG_1506.jpeg
    921.5 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_1507.jpeg
    IMG_1507.jpeg
    787.1 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_1508.jpeg
    IMG_1508.jpeg
    499.5 KB · Views: 54
  • IMG_1509.jpeg
    IMG_1509.jpeg
    847.7 KB · Views: 58
Welcome to TFP.

Not too difficult to vertically mount a SWG after the filter output.

Knife valve shutoff look fine to me.

A drain Is probably in your future to lower your CYA and CH.

Retest your CYA doing the following…

For CYA > 90ppm, repeat the test adjusting the procedure as follows: