Jtyler

Jun 3, 2023
Maryland
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
this is my first time posting. We had a TON of algae when we opened our pool. After a few weeks of brushing, shocking, and getting everything functioning; this stuff won’t budge. We have been to our local pool supply dozens of times, socked, algecide, all of it.
I recently found this forum and site and am starting a SLAM followed by the mustard algae protocol. I am hoping to get some advice on if I am doing this right. Lots of dates pictures below from the last week. Pictures start on 5/28 when we were still trying to get the water right. Before then we had double shocked (4bags and done algecide, changed filters, and scrubbed everything we could off the walls multiple times a day with a wire brush).
I’ve done the vitamin c vs. chlorine puck test. It is definitely organic. But how do I know if it’s just stained?

~22,000 gallons
Plaster
2023 c5030 Hayward cartridge filter running 24 hours
Our deep end skimmer barely functions
New polaris
Maryland
New water in early 2022

night of 6/3- Water looked great. Stuff on walls as stuck on as ever.
FC got down to zero. Added 6 bags of granular shock and a bottle of sodium bromide.

Today-
Water looked great. Walls (especially steps) looked visibly better but still visibly plenty of algae or staining.
FC 0.61
TC 0.61
CC 0
pH 7.3
Hardness 177
Alk 67
CA 46
Copper and iron both 0
Negative for nitrates
Phosphates 578

I’ve just added (evening of 6/3) three gallons of 10% liquid chlorine. Brushed the entire pool.

I understand for the SLAM method I need to check my FC regularly and add chlorine regularly. Using the calculator I think I’m trying to get to ~16ppm. Once my OCLT is less than 1 I need to raise to ~24ppm.