Newbie...What to do first?

Marisa76

In The Industry
Jul 24, 2024
Albany, NY
Hi All! I am new to TFP and we had our 24' round Radiant installed just about two weeks ago. Husband and I are first time pool owners. We filled the pool using our well water which is high in iron. We did not run the fill water thru our whole house filtering system. I've since done a lot of reading on this forum about filling pools with well water and we will be adding filters to our garden hose. Pool has been filled for about a week now and our salt chlorine generator filter should be installed today as we were waiting on electric (also still waiting to backfill once electric inspected). While filling the pool, husband added the Clorox shock xtraBLUE+ 6 in 1 formula to it. The pool is currently green and we are unable to see the bottom. See attached pic. I'm not sure if I'm on the right track here, but I'm guessing it is now green because the chemicals oxidized with the iron in our water. Hoping for some advice on what to do first to get it swimmable.
Do I start with SLAM first? I was thinking of adding polyfill to the skimmer basket to start to filter out the iron and at some point adding sequestriant. We don't have a testing kit yet, I'm not sure if the pool vendor will provide one today when they set up the filter, but I will plan to buy one of the ones recommended here.
Thanks for the help!

Attachments

• Pool 7-25-24.jpg
    Pool 7-25-24.jpg
    698.8 KB · Views: 1
I would move right to using a Polyfill bucket as I had to do two weeks ago after filling from a iron rich well. See my post:
New Pool in Florida (Well Water)
The bucket will be faster, for sure. As to testing, pick up the recommended one from this group and get to testing. @JessBlount617 and @PoolStored were extremely helpful. Listen to any advice they give.