A little confused by Pool Math

makeupanameforme

Jun 28, 2024
Olathe, KS
I’m brand new to pool ownership. Inherited a pool 4 days ago with zero FC and zero CYA.

~45,000 in ground concrete pool, non SWG.

Pool Math told me to target 3 for FC so I started working toward that with SLAM. It also told me I needed to add 6 gallons of stabilizer. Now, after several shocks and adding the 6 gallons of stabilizer, I reached the target of 3 FC and have 70 CYA. Well now when I check targets in Pool Math it tells me I have a new target of 8 FC and my CYA is too high and needs to lower to 45.

Pool store test kit says all my current levels are in the OK/ideal range. I understand those are old thinking and plan to work toward Pool Math targets but I have a few questions.

1. Why would Pool Math tell me to target 3 FC but also at the same time tell me to add 6 gallons to raise CYA to a level that’s too high and would also then require a higher FC target?

2. Again, I’ll work toward what Pool Math says but since the pool is in OK/ideal range according to the test kit I assume it’s at least okay to get into at this point, is that correct?

3. Since my CYA is too high, should I focus on removing some water from the pool and adding fresh water to lower that first (which I assume will lower the target FC a bit)? Or should I focus on reaching the 8 on FC first?

Appreciate the help!

Welcome to TFP! :wave: The PoolMath APP is a great tool, but it may not always understand your exact situation. So for that, it's best to share your test results here first, especially as a new member so we can walk through a few things. So before you do anything else, please post a full set of test results. Also confirm which test kit you are using. You can add that to your signature as well.

If you didn't know, in your APP settings there is an option to share test logs here to your TFP profile. That way we can see them at any time as needed.